Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: How to Use Crystals to Balance Your Chakras

How to Use Crystals to Balance Your Chakras

How to Use Crystals to Balance Your Chakras

Every day, we interact with energy in the world around us.

When we are in a positive, calm environment, this energy helps align the body and mind with natural prana, or life-force, that helps you feel centered.

Unfortunately, as we go about our normal lives, we also encounter a lot of negative energy: stress from work, dealing with other people, or even just sitting in traffic. Our bodies unconsciously take on this negativity, which pushes you out of alignment.

Today, we explain how you can use crystals to rest and recharge your body through its seven energy centers, or chakras.

If you’re unfamiliar with where these energy centers are in your body and what each represents, you can read: Beginner’s Guide to Understanding Chakras

Why Crystals Help You Realign

Crystals work through a process of entrainment. This process is based on the mechanics of vibration - the fact that all matter vibrates according to a specific level of frequency, or energy, that it holds.

When you meditate while holding a stone or crystal, your body begins to entrain - or align - to the energy that the crystal holds. This makes these stones powerful objects to help you ground your natural energy, find the center, and achieve a better sense of internal harmony and balance.

Which Crystals Should You Use for Each Chakra?

Each of the seven chakras is associated with different types of energy in the body. Because of this, different crystals are appropriate for focusing on each chakra.

The Root Chakra

This chakra is located at the base of your spine. The energy in this center focuses on gaining a sense of stability and security. The crystals you can use to balance this center include:

The Sacral Chakra

This chakra is located below the navel. The energy here represents your creativity, desire, and intuition. To balance your second chakra, use stones like:

The Solar Plexus Chakra

This chakra is located just below your ribs and above your navel. The energy here represents your personal power, intellect, and ambition. To balance your third chakra, you can use:

The Heart Chakra

This chakra represents the energy of love and compassion. To balance your fourth chakra, you can use:

The Throat Chakra

This chakra represents your ability to express yourself and engage in clear communication. To balance your fifth chakra, you can use:

The Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is located on your forehead, centered between your eyes. This energy center focuses on intuition and spiritual awareness. To balance your sixth chakra, you can use:

Read this article next: Unlock Your Intuition With Your Third Eye Chakra

The Crown Chakra

This chakra is located on the top of your head and is associated with feelings of enlightenment and universal consciousness. To balance your seventh chakra, you can use:

How Do I Use These Crystals to Balance My Chakras?

This can be achieved by meditating with these crystals.

If you are working with one specific chakra, begin by holding the stone or crystal in the palm of your hand, with your hands placed together, facing upward, on your lap. Sit up straight, close your eyes, and begin to breathe softly and easily.

Take time to focus on your breath, bringing your attention inward. As you breathe, simply pay attention to the flow of air into and out of your body.

When you begin to feel more relaxed and comfortable, you can gradually draw your attention to the chakra you want to focus on. For example, if you want to balance your Heart chakra, you would center your attention on your heart.

While continuing to hold the crystal in your hand, imagine that you are breathing energy into this area of your body. If you’d like, use a visualization of a point of light, and practice expanding that light with each breath.

Continue this practice for several minutes. When you are ready to exit the meditation, take time to bring your awareness back to your whole body, and gradually open your eyes.

How to Balance All 7 Chakras

If you want to balance all seven chakras, collect one stone or crystal for each energy center and place it on the floor in front of you. Order the stones following the chakras from left to right, with the stone for the first chakra on the left.

Close your eyes and enter your meditation, taking a minute or two simply to relax and focus on your breath.

When you are ready to balance your chakras, bring your attention to your first chakra at the base of your spine. As you do, extend a hand towards the left-most stone. Keep your hand a few inches above the stone, palm facing down.

Slowly move through each chakra in this way, spending one to two minutes focusing on each. After you finish with the final chakra, pause for a moment, returning your attention to your breath.

Then, go back through each chakra again, but much faster, spending about one breath, or 10-20 seconds, on each.

When you are finished, again, take a few moments to pay attention to your breath and, when you are ready, come out of your meditation.

How do you keep your chakras balanced?

Related article: How to Use Music to Balance Your Chakras

Discover How Dailylife Mushroom Gummies

Reduce Stress & Support Wellness

Featuring 10 adaptogen filled functional mushrooms in a delicious gummy to support everyday wellness.

Learn More →

Read more

10 Soothing Affirmations for the Heart Chakra

10 Soothing Affirmations for the Heart Chakra

Your chakras are energy centers that are the meeting point of your mind and body. They regulate a lot of your physical and mental health and are affected by your subconscious thoughts. To improve...

Read more
A Guided Meditation for the Winter Solstice

A Guided Meditation for the Winter Solstice

Guided meditation can help us visualize a positive future and now that we are on the brink of 2021. Astrologers and mystics would argue that the winter solstice is the perfect time to do a meditati...

Read more